Lonely by the firelight

I saw the firelight dancing through the window,
Flickering flame mocking my mind,
Looking inside on a world so foreign,
I stand alone on the other side,
Happiness and glee upon faces of children,
Babes so entranced by there innocent life,
A life that once was so sweetly mine,
Fathers holding daughters and sons protectively and proud,
Mothers looking on blissfully at the life they created,
Longing for such a life I cling to the sullen window,
Tears streaming down my face,
My soul tortured by the happiness inside,
Spitefully wanting to extinguish the flame.

Leave a Reply

