Bruised by your love

For too many years I have became your scratching post,
Torn to ribbons,
Bloody and beaten,
Ripped apart my soul still intact,
Barely breathing,
my mind on life support,
Battered and bruised,
lesser than a man,
I pick up the pieces, that you couldn’t understand,
Bludgeoned spirit rolled in glass,
Tiny cuts where kisses laid in the past,
Violent violet bruises adorned by your hugs,
Pain was your needle,
Tears your drug,
I wept for days wishing to drown out your screams,
I plotted for nights for my great escape,
Until one day torture became boring,
The beast retreated and left me to die.

Leave a Reply

