Sleeping in my sneakers

Passing out with all the lights on,
Shoes still walking from the morning
Before,
Gentle sleep aggressively taking control,
Running through life full speed,
Burning my candle into ash,
So much left undone,
Remorse sets in waking up to the next days sun,
Unrequited tasks, left unfinished,
Guilt for lost potential,
Most days I am a steam engine,
Bellowing smoke,
Whistling fire,
Full throttle steam ahead,
I don’t switch gears morning or night,
Serene exhaustion is the only way my gears come to a screeching halt,
I need to learn its fine,
to shut down my train,
And rest my mind.

Leave a Reply

