Insomniac lullaby

Caffeine and cat naps,
I wish the night away,
Stars become clouds,
Always awake never dreaming,
I am alone with the dusk,
A wake up call for the dawn,
Gently nudging the sun,
Strolling through life,
One foot on both sides of the day,
My mind never peaceful,
I straddle the morning and the evening,
A watchman for the moon,
Steadfast but shaky,
I guard the twilight,
Marching through the night,
Silently screaming muted cadences,
pleading for a deep slumber once in awhile,
My afternoons and evenings are blurry,
becoming all in one,
I am alone with my mind,
Weathered and beaten,
I hope to sleep again

Leave a Reply

