Demons of my eyes

I lit a match to my kinder spirit,

breathing in the sulfur and the ashes,

the heat of the irreverent flame,

mocking my happiness with its defiant flame,

My sanity begins to shudder,

knowing this disparity,

the wicked pattern that destroyed my heart,

I have captured this demon once before,

locking it in a box,

swallowing the key,

deep in my sanity,

the soulless beast has many forms,

shifting through reality and bending thoughts

through my insecurities,

speaking venom with maniacal laughter,

striking only when all is well,

destroying my safety, with murderous intentions.

Leave a Reply

